Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

The Creative Issue – News for Creatives | August 17, 2022

Scroll to top


AACTA Nominations Are In

AACTA Nominations Are In

| On 15, Dec 2014

…and despite Aussie films performing below average in the box-office, the incredible lineup of award deserving Australian films is something to behold.

The Babadook
Charlie’s Country
The Railway Man
The Water Diviner

The major contenders for the Best Film category seem to be The Babdook, of huge international success in the world of horror cinema, and The Water Diviner, Australia’s latest Gallipoli blockbuster. Given the rocky history of The Babadook on the local stage, it would be a great publicity push to see it take out the top prize.

Best film

Russell Crowe (The Water Diviner)
David Gulpilil (Charlie’s Country)
Guy Pearce (The Rover)
Damon Herriman (The Little Death)

Despite his raw comedic talent, it seems Damon Herriman is the least likely name on this list to take the Best Actor category. Russell, David and Guy have all proven their mettle in their respective roles, but if we had to choose our money is on David Gulpilil for Charlie’s Country.


Mia Wasikowska (Tracks)
Essie Davis (The Babadook)
Sarah Snook (Predestination)
Kate Box (The Little Death)

Another incredibly strong list of leading ladies makes for another difficult pick. Given the strength of their film’s successes the likely contenders are Mia and Essie, but there is no wrong pick from these nominations.

Best Actress

Jennifer Kent (The Babadook)
Rolf de Heer (Charlie’s Country)
Peter & Michael Spierig (Predestination)
David Michôd (The Rover)

Four incredible films from four incredible directors. The Australians are truly showing their renewed filmmaking vigour with this group of nominations. While all are certainly deserving, our bet is on Rolf De Heer with Charlie’s Country; a poignant and impactful snapshot of a self-destructive life in the Australian outback.


52 Tuesdays
The Babadook
Charlie’s Country
The Water Diviner

There is no closer list of nominees than this. While anyone could take best screenplay our fingers are crossed for 52 Tuesdays, which has snuck in with this nomination.

Best Screenplay

Marden Dean (Fell)
Ben Nott (Predestination)
Gary Phillips (The Railway Man)
Mandy Walker (Tracks)

Another tight race with frontrunners likely Predestination and Fell. We can’t pick a favourite, can you?

Best Cinematography

Patrick Brammall (The Little Death)
Yilmaz Erdogan (The Water Diviner)
Robert Pattinson (The Rover)
TJ Power (The Little Death)

While there will always be a soft spot in our hearts for Patrick Brammall and TJ Power after their equally hilarious and unique portrayals of modern men in The Little Death, our bets are placed firmly on Robert Pattinson, who has well and truly broken any doubts about his acting talent after an unmentionable mainstream breakout.

Best Supp Actor

Erin James (The Little Death)
Jacqueline McKenzie (The Water Diviner)
Kate Mulvany (The Little Death)
Susan Prior (The Rover)

Despite another category being dominated by The Little Death (in particular Kate Mulvany’s irresistible portrayal of the run-down Australian wife), most eyes seem to be pointed at Jacqueline McKenzie for her role in The Water Diviner – and rightfully so.

Best Supp Actress

There are many more categories to place your bets on at the official website, all with incredibly strong line-ups of Australian films and talent. 2014 has seen an overall slump in the attendance of Aussie films, but that does not reflect on the quality of content we have been creating. This year has been one of the most exciting and fulfilling for proving that Australian films are not a pleasure of the past, and the best is certainly still to come.



What The Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA) Nominees

When Events all through Screenweek (26-29th January, 2015) concluding with the Awards Ceremony on Thursday 29th

Where The Star Event Centre, 80 Pyrmont Street, Pyrmont, SYDNEY. Tickets on sale now here. Television screening information TBA.

More information see the official AACTA website here.


Image credits: AACTA and Respective Films’ Official Websites