Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

The Creative Issue – News for Creatives | October 15, 2019

Scroll to top

Top

Palace Cinema hosts Pop Up Manga

Kristie Yates

My-Neighbor-Totoro
Manga fans unite! The Palace Cinemas are currently hosting the Pop-Up Manga Festival which kicked off June 21 and runs until July 27 at Palace Centro.

21410403_c1b2ba235c_oThis mini pop-up fest features a collection of films from Studio Ghibli and caters to families screening English dubbed films on Saturday afternoons, as well as the more adult manga fans with the original, subtitled Japanese versions on Friday nights.

As an enthusiastic admirer of director, animator, screenwriter and all around mastermind Hayao Miyazaki, I went along to the first screening: Howl’s Moving Castle.

Although I’ve seen this incredibly clever film many times before, there is something special about taking the time and losing yourself in the movie theater.

If you haven’t seen any of the following films, but are a fan of Disney, then I encourage you to come along and allow your mind to be blown.

With stunning visuals, unique stories and unforgettable characters, the Pop-Up Managa Festival is a rare treat, ideal for all audiences. After all, you can never be too old for manga.

Program:
Pop Up Manga Friday Nights Vol 1
(All Friday night screenings are at 8.45pm)spirited-away-zhbb6z
Friday Jun 28 – Spirited Away [PG]
Friday Jul 05 – Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind [PG]
Friday Jul 12 – Arrietty [G]
Friday Jul 19 – My Neighbor Totoro [G] [25th Anniversary Screening]
Friday Jul 26 – From Up On Poppy Hill [G]

Pop-Up Manga Family Films
(All Saturday screenings are at 12noon)
Sat Jun 22 — Ponyo [G]
Sat Jun 29 — My Neighbour Totoro [G] [25th Anniversary Screening]
Sat Jul 06 — Laputa Castle In The Sky [G]
Sat Jul 13 — From Up On Poppy Hill [G]
Sat Jul 20 — Arietty [G]
Sat Jul 27 — Kiki’s Delivery Service [G]

Tickets: $8 children, $10 adults

When: Saturday 22 June – Saturday 27 July 2013

Where: Palace Centro Cinemas,
39 James Street, Fortitude Valley

www.palacecinemas.com.au